Board of Directors

The Sickle Cell Foundation of Georgia, Inc. is governed by an elected Board of Directors that sets strategic direction and upholds fiduciary responsibilities.  Board members are encouraged to volunteer and participate at Foundation events.

The Board operates according to established By-Laws.  Regular Meetings are held quarterly and Special Call Meetings can be scheduled at any time.   A quorum is required to take official action. Members are elected to specific terms of service and some have served for over 30 years.  Co-founder Delutha H. King, now retired, remains vigilant and actively engaged on the Board.  100% of the Board contribute to the organization financially.

The recruitment of new members is a top priority. Persons interested in serving on the Board or the Advisory Committee are asked to email the Chair c/o:


delutha king Dr.-Nelson-McGhee-Jr.-Co-Founder-150x150
Delutha H. King Jr., M.D. Nelson McGhee Jr., M.D.

Board of Directors:

charles johnson    chuck douglas Picture Coming Soon Picture Coming Soon
Charles S. Johnson III, Esq.


Chuck M. Douglas, Esq.

Vice Chair

Lynnae F. Thandiwe, Esq.




tate marvin arrington johnrobinson
Hon. Horacena Tate Marvin Arrington Jr. Esq John C. Robinson, CTP
red box red box red box
Parnel Abraham Brian D. Poe, Esq. Camille N. Jarman, Esq.
red box red box red box
David A. Troy Keith Wright, M.D. Kent Matlock


Director of Emeriti

Henry “Hank” Aaron Rudolph E. Jackson, M.D. William B. Shropshire, D.D.S.